Handprint Turkeys {Thanksgiving Craft}

gobble gobble

My MIL loves to decorate for every.single. holiday.  And by that, I mean she changes out pillows, candles, cushions, throws, art etc and adds holiday specific items to go with the holiday color scheme! So I knew she would love to display a fall canvas from her grandchildren.  Boy was I right! I know you have seen the handprint turkeys all over Pinterest.  Here is my take on it!

What you need:

  • canvas
  • scrapbook paper
  • mod podge
  • paint
  • permanent marker
  • cute little willing hands to paint!

Unfortunately I do not have step by step pics…sorry! I will do my best to talk you through it!

  1. Modpodge the scrapbook paper to the canvas by putting a thin layer of glue on the canvas and then a tin layer on the back of the paper.  Then carefully place the paper onto the canvas trying to avoid bubbles.  Smooth out any bubbles .  Apply a thin layer of glue to the front of the paper.  Let dry.
  2. Once the canvas is dry, get your willing participants and paint their hands.  I chose to paint each finger a different color to make the feathers.  Then carefully place their hand onto the canvas.  Repeat with the other hand.
  3. Add beak, legs, eye and wattle to the turkey.  Also, you can add whatever sentiment you would like.  I chose Gobble, Gobble.  And for this I actually printed it out on regular paper and traced it with a sharpie.  The sharpie bled through onto the canvas and then I was able to fill it in to finish it.

 

Let me know if you have any questions!

 

 

Leave a Reply

