Which Window Treatments?

I have to confess…we moved back into our house after the remodel almost 2 years ago and…have been living with paper shades.  Okay I said it.  Whew.  I am happy to say that we are ready to invest in real window treatments.  I have been pinning away, but to be honest I am just a little anxious.  It is a big expense and can make a big impact on the room.

Screen shot 2013-02-13 at 5.21.46 PM

We have a very neutral home with grays, whites, and light bluish greenish greys…really exciting sounding huh? I have ruled out plantation shutters as it would be too busy looking for me in our space.  Also, no long curtains in most rooms…with 2 young children and 2 dogs, no thank you! So I kinda have my heart set on Roman $hade$.  And we have got a lot of window.  Just to get an idea of what we are in for, I have plugged in some measurements for online window treatment sites. The damage…an average of $500 per window.  We have 5 windows in just our front living room…ouch!

I ventured into a local window fashions place here in Austin and the designer there opened my eyes to bamboo shades.  I have always liked the look but didn’t want dark or light brown shades up in our space.  What I didn’t know was there are TONS of different shades and textures to choose from.  So it would be safe to say that I am considering them.  I need to get my hands on some samples to bring home though! Oh, bamboo shades aren’t cheap but could bring the cost down to approximately $300 per window depending on our choice.

Just wanted to share with you.  What do you have in your home…curtains, shades, blinds? We will be working one room at a time so I’ll keep you posted along the way!  I am going to try to visit another store this week to see what they offer/advise for our home!

 

Leave a Reply

